Reviews and Testimonials

Here you will find recommendations and comments straight from our happy customers. We always love to hear form you, our lovely customers. After all, 90% of our business is through your recommendation. We’d like to thank each and everyone one of you who has taken the time to send us cards, letters and photographs. Your kind words are greatly appreciated.

If you would like your testimonial included, you can contact us here, or alternatively you can write to us at: Testimonials, Unit 1A, By Storm, 1987 Maryhill Road, Glasgow, G20 0BT

  • Alexandra Watkins April 25, 2017 Wedding DateApril 22, 2017
    I had seen the dress I wanted in a magazine. I phoned and made an appointment in February 2016. On visiting the showroom I explained that I wanted to lose weight and as the wedding wasn’t until April 2017 I had given myself plenty of time. This was not a problem. I picked my dress and paid the deposit securing the material. They couldn’t have been nicer or friendlier. I phoned and made my appointment for January for my measurements to be taken by the wonderful Val. After another three appointment I had my fabulous outfit. I felt so comfortable and glamorous in it. I received numerous compliments on my outfit at the wedding. It was as fresh at the end of the wedding as it was at the start. No crushing. I can’t recommend Joyce Young by Storm enough. You will not be disappointed.
    Extract from SWD reviews
  • Frances Spargo October 14, 2016
    The wonderful Joyce Young Team designed a beautiful celtic inspired evening dress for my 60th birthday celebration. Diana in the London salon was so helpful and professional and each fitting went beautifully. When I tried on the final gown I was completely delighted. I would recommend Joyce Young to anyone , not just a bride, who wants to feel special.
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Janet Burrows May 25, 2016 Wedding DateJune 11, 2016
    First of all I want to say that I have had a wonderful experience at Joyce Young Design Studio Glasgow.
From the first visit where I met Joyce who helped me to pick out an outfit for my son’s wedding. She made suggestions to ensure that my choice of dress and contrasting jacket were ideally suited to my requirements.
After my choice of outfit I had three planned fittings and met the wonderful Val. Her attention to detail was incredible and nothing was too much trouble. She advised on a number of changes which were perfect for my style of outfit. I cannot praise highly enough Val and her colleagues for the quality of workmanship.
I have had a wonderful buying experience from a wonderful and dedicated team.
Lots of love and grateful thanks
Janet Burrows
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Elaine cully May 13, 2016 Wedding DateApril 29, 2016
    AN OASIS OF CALM.
    Having just come from a well recommended shop I was tired,disillusioned and empty handed.
My friends and I walked into By Storm .
It was like an oasis of calm compared to anywhere else I had tried. We were a bit early for my appointment but were offered coffee and a comfortable seat.
I was lucky enough to be attended to by Joyce which was a fantastic experience. After trying just a few outfits Joyce came up with a combination which suited me perfectly. I really valued her input and gentle manner.
The outfit was chosen, I was measured and after months of looking around, one visit to By Storm and I was sorted!
I had 3 fittings with the lovely Val who couldn’t have been more helpful. She also advised me on which hat and bag to chose, making them to match my outfit.
I received some wonderful comments about my outfit on the day, however, the best bit for me was not only how good I felt but how comfortable I was. That feeling lasted the whole day!
I can’t thank Joyce, Val and the whole team enough.
THANK YOU.
Elaine.
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Christine Emmett November 6, 2015
    Made to feel “1,000,000 Dollars” throughout whole selection and fitting sequence.Val you are a STAR and a very very patient one too. Here`s to Saturday !! Thanks everyone.
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Stephenie Nicholson November 6, 2015
    I cant thank Joyce, Val & Florence enough when its came to their help designing my dress. For years Joyce has designed dress & outfits for my mum so there was no other option than going right to Joyce. I cant wait to see the finished piece x
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Helen Martin March 12, 2017 Wedding DateMarch 17, 2017
    My experience started about 7 years ago in a kilt makers in Edinburgh who, at that time. was displaying the most beautiful wedding dress I had ever seen, nothing like the usual ivory or cream. I knew that I had to have this when my other half finally popped the question. 7 years later the planning began. Returning to the kilt makers I found out that the dress was designed by Joyce Young. My quest was on. Having made an appointment to visit by Storm in Glasgow I arrived quite late in the day but was given a warm welcome. Explaining what I wanted I had the services of Florence and Joyce – what more could a woman want? The dress I had chosen all those years ago was from the Tartan wedding range, in particular the Heritage design. Being a woman of a certain age it wasn’t suitable to where all ivory or white so this was absolutely perfect with a few tweaks – not so much ivory – more tartan and learning that Joyce had designed the tartan herself made it even more perfect. My first fitting was awesome. Val was now looking after me, we had such a laugh. I kept changing size (like you do!!) but that was never a problem, by the time I got to the fitting where the dress was made out of the tartan I was nearly in tears (of joy), I couldn’t believe how it looked, little OLD me in something so spectacular. Val was very patient with me – living in Newark on Trent my fittings had to be made around visiting the frozen north which happened four times a year. By the time of my very last fitting in February 2017 I was now panicking about shoes. The first pair I had purchased didn’t go with the dress even though Val had given me a swatch to work with. I hadn’t managed to find any that suited since. Val sorted me out taking me back down to their most sumptuous and calming showroom a bride or even brides mother would ever want to be in. Six pairs of shoes later Val had found the right choice for me. My journey was complete. Joyce was there on my last visit as well what a fitting end. Val and the team even sorted cravats for the men matching the cravat colour to the colour of their kilts. I have only six days to go before I walk up the ‘aisle’, no-one expect my Maid of Honour knows what I am wearing, Thank you so much to Joyce, Florence, Val, Irene and all the staff for making my wedding so special for me.
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • MARGARET MAXWELL August 10, 2016 Wedding DateJuly 16, 2016

    From the first time I walked in to Joyce Young and met Florence, to picking up my outfit from Val, I was extremely happy with the service and courteous professionalism that was shown to me. Florence has a really good eye for what does and does not suit without being pushy-She made me feel very much at ease and I was very grateful she was there. After the outfit was picked, I was then passed onto the very experienced dressmaker, Val. What a pleasure to deal with someone so pleasant and talented. My outfit was stunning and I was so glad that someone recommended Joyce Young to me!
    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Melissa Morris June 20, 2016 Wedding DateSeptember 8, 2017
    I am getting married in September next year and have been so excited since we set the date….well about everything but my dress! I am a curvier woman (maybe considered ‘plus size’) and the thought of finding a dress in my size filled me with dread! My Mam arranged an appointment at Joyce Young Glasgow for us both and to be honest I wasn’t looking forward to it….that was until we arrived! A stylish and classy showroom was first followed by meeting Florence, also stylish and classy! I was instantly put at ease with Florence who asked about my special day and what style I was going for so she could incorporate that into my dress. I had a dress in mind that I thought would cover up all the wobbly bits…how wrong I was! Florence tried me in a variety of shapes, styles and fabrics and finally designed me the perfect wedding dress for me and it was the opposite to what I had originally thought would be best for me. I couldn’t of asked for a better day and I can sit back and relax knowing my dress is taken care of and that it will fit me perfectly when the day comes. I’m excited for my fittings to start now and so is my Mam who also got a fabulous Mother of the Bride outfit too! Florence also helped pick the perfect shoes, head piece and veil so all sorted in one lovely afternoon! I couldn’t recommend Joyce Young Glasgow enough for brides of any shape or size….they have everything and if they haven’t they make it for you. Worth every penny in my opinion to look and feel your best on your wedding day!
    Extract from SWD Reviews

  • Teena Gilmour April 18, 2016 Wedding DateApril 9, 2016
    I first came across my outfit in a magazine, I made my appointment at Joyce Young Glasgow, where I was greeted by Florence for my private one and a half hour appointment and I was not disappointed. I decided on a dress and jacket, Val then came through and took measurements and from there I had three fittings from my first visit. Val and team were wonderful even when I changed material from part of my dress with a week to go to the wedding, they pulled out all the stops . I also bought my hat, bag and shoes there. I had the most wonderful comments from guests and members of the public as Dan and Vairi were married at St Giles Cathedral and then the reception at Prestonfield House. My outfit was collection K purple and teal dress and jacket.

    This was my first wedding as mother of the groom and I felt so special, I have two other children and when they marry there will be only one shop that I will buy my next outfit at.

    Many Thanks Team Joyce Young

    Teena Gilmour.

    Extract from SWD Reviews
  • Sandra Elsom
    Just collected my Mother of the Bride outfit from The Haverstock Hill store. The whole experience from the initial visit, through the fitting appointments, right through to collection today has been a real joy. I was made to feel special .... What every woman wants.

    Joyce and Diana are absolute delights and I can't thank them both enough for all their kind attention.

    Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending anyone to go see these wonderful people if you want something special xxxx.
    FB
    Thank you ladies xxxx
  • Natalie Louise Murray
    Just collected my Mother of the Bride outfit from The Haverstock Hill store. The whole experience from the initial visit, through the fitting appointments, right through to collection today has been a real joy. I was made to feel special .... What every woman wants.

    Joyce and Diana are absolute delights and I can't thank them both enough for all their kind attention.

    Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending anyone to go see these wonderful people if you want something special xxxx.
    FB
    Thank you ladies xxxx
  • Caroline Robertson
    I cannot praise Joyce and her team enough.
    This was a fantastic experience - for a very important occasion.
    From our first meeting right through all the design, make up and fittings of my beautiful 'one of a kind' dress everything went smoothly.
    Joyce made the experience all the more enjoyable with her professional and calming manner. Nothing was too much trouble and everything done with precision. The attention to detail was fantastic. I would definitely recommend Joyce and her team if you want something special and to be made to feel special.

    This was money and time well spent and the end result was stunning - thank you Joyce xx
    FB
  • Morven Di Ciacca
    I ordered my dress quite late, loved the first dress I tried on. When my dress arrived it was altered, perfectly I might add, within 5 days and I was able to take my dress, veil and shoes home at the same time. All 2 weeks before my wedding. Thank you for making my choice so easy and for making my whole experience so enjoyable and stress free. I promised a couple of photos of my dress on so will add them now. Thank you xx
    FB
  • Tara Annabel Reid
    I ordered my dress quite late, loved the first dress I tried on. When my dress arrived it was altered, perfectly I might add, within 5 days and I was able to take my dress, veil and shoes home at the same time. All 2 weeks before my wedding. Thank you for making my choice so easy and for making my whole experience so enjoyable and stress free. I promised a couple of photos of my dress on so will add them now. Thank you xx
    FB
  • Lynds Bx
    I was in with my mum trying on mother of the brides outfits over the weekend and the service I received was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to find the perfect outfit for her and she is over the moon. Thanks again will definitely be recommending you's xx
    FB
  • Victoria Louise
    Visited Joyce Young today to look for a wedding dress with my family. Thank you so much to Joyce and her team for creating such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere for us. In particular I would like to thank Katie who was extremely enthusiastic, helpful and listened to exactly what I wanted. As a result of her expertise and patience I found my dream dress! I couldn't recommend Joyce Young highly enough.
    FB
  • Jade Byrne
    I visited Joyce Young Design Studios on Saturday and what a wonderful experience me and my family/friends had. I felt I had to write this review just to praise Katie who made me feel so at ease. She went out her way every minute of the day to make this experience one I wouldn't forget! She is an absolute asset to this company and great at her job! Can't wait to wear my JY dress on the big day!
    FB
  • Lorraine Winchester
    Hello, my daughter got married last September and Joyce and her team made an absolutely amazing job of my dress. Joyce especially made my time at the studios very special. Hopefully, I'll be back soon!
    FB
  • Kirstin Watson
    Thank you Katie, Joyce and the rest of the team for a fab shopping experience for Mum. Her mother of the bride outfit is just perfect and she loves it. The team were so kind, patient and helpful. Highly recommended.
    FB
  • Mhairi Connal
    I had the best experience wedding dress shopping at Joyce Young in Glasgow. Katie is just the loveliest, most helpful person and she was so nice on every meeting and phone call I had with her as was everyone else! As every woman does, I have my body worries and Katie made me feel so comfortable, happy and beautiful in the dresses I tried on. I found my wedding dress and I couldn't be happier that it is a Joyce Young design. It is just absolutely perfect and I can't wait to wear it next year at my wedding! I would recommend everyone to go to Joyce Young!
    FB
  • Danielle Brown
    Felt like a princess the day I went to look for my wedding dress. Can't wait to go back for my next fitting
    FB
  • Laura Green
    Have just had my first fitting at Joyce Young for a sister-of-the-bride jacket and was so impressed. Warm, welcoming service from Joyce and Nisha and painstaking attention to detail from Joyce during the fitting. The mock up of the jacket looked fantastic, particularly after Joyce's inspired "tweaks"! I'm so excited to see the finished item and could not recommend Joyce Young highly enough.
    FB
  • Marion Ormond
    I had a fabulous time getting my wedding dress and as I live in London but was getting married in Glasgow, I had appointments in both locations. All the staff were friendly and helpful and my dress is more beautiful than imagined it could ever be. I would recommend them to anyone.
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Lorraine Buchanan Fellowes
    Massive thank you to Katie at Joyce Young store in Glasgow today. This was my first ever visit to a bridal shop so I was a bit unsure what to expect but Katie put me (and Mum) at ease and couldn't have been more helpful. Fantastic service and I totally love my dress. Thank you x
    FB
  • Janet Holmes
    I called in to browse on Saturday and was really taken by the beautiful gowns and mother of the bride outfits. Joyce and her husband were so warm and friendly and spent time showing me around their shop which oozed a certain je ne sais quoi, an elegant ambience with the warmest of welcomes. I am smitten with the duck egg bow dress
    Good luck for the show!
    FB
  • Libby Stewart
    Was here today with my mum for her wedding dress the service we both recieved was amazing. Joyce was so nice and helpful my mum was over the moon with her dress and I even got my outfit for the wedding. Thank you joyce you made my mums day and she will look amazing on her wedding day xxx
    FB
  • Lisa Cranwell
    Hi all I thought I would send a note to you all as felt a million dollars in my dress on Saturday ,

    The Lisa dress and Beverly Hills veil.

    thanks to all the girls at Joyce young ... Thanks again Lisa xxx
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Andrea McGowan
    Been today to finally make my choice of outfit. The help and advice given by Florence was exceptional, she made me feel relaxed and very comfortable
    Can't wait now to go for my first fitting
    FB
  • Shona Allan
    Bought my Mother of the Bride outfit at Joyce Young by Storm in Glasgow. Service was first class, only had 6 wks to plan, measure, make and buy. Could not fault any part of my purchase. I felt fabulous in my outfit which complimented my daughters gown just perfect.
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Mhairi McMillan
    I got my wedding dress made here 6 years ago and people still comment on how different it was with tartan in it! amazing service and quality! my Mum also got her Mother of the Bride outfit for my wedding here and 2 years later got her own wedding dress here too
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Julia Sharapova
    Joyce and the girls are just amazing! Fell in love with one of their dresses! will definitely come back! Thanks a lot, could not be happier xxx
    FB
  • Linda Anderson
    What an experience! My Daughter,sister and I had a lovely stress free afternoon while my youngest daughter tried on the most exquisite dresses,very hard to choose a favourite. Florence was wonderful very patient and extremely helpful.We now have a dress...Thank you
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Gail Anderson
    Had a fab time trying on MOB outfits on Saturday. Would like to say a huge thank you to Florence who was extremely helpful.
    FB
  • Carrie Dickie
    Amazing dresses and great ladies who do everything they can to make your experience perfect x
    FB
  • Nick Garrett
    Fab lady and immense eye for detail and uber cool styling. Loved working with her on her signage and interiors themes.
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • Cathy Blake
    Absolutely love my outfit by storm the service perfect.
    FB
  • Jennifer Chapman
    Thankyou Joyce Young! Amazing dresses and service!
    Joyce Young London Glasgow
    FB
  • “Dear Joyce,
    Thank you very much for my beautiful wedding dress. I was so comfortable in my dress all day but felt so special and like a princess in the most amazing dress. I am so pleased to have found your shop and the Sabrina design, it was made for me! Thanks again, love Barbara”
  • “To Joyce, Val and the team,
    Thank you so much for creating a dream of an outfit. We had a superb day, with love from Maura x”
  • “Dear Diana & Nisha,
    Many thanks for your exceptional service and amazing quality of the dresses for my daughter and me. Christina looked as a Queen and felt very happy and special in her Bridal dress. My dress was complimented as the best ever seen for the Mother of the Bride dress. We had a great time at the wedding thanks to you. With love, Olia.”
  • “Many Many Thanks for Making My Day So Special! I can't thank you enough. Diana you were a true professional. I just loved wearing my outfit, I felt a million dollars. Thank you. Pam xxx”
  • “Dear Diana,
    Just a little note to thank you for all your time and skill re creating my wedding outfit which looked perfect on the day! We had a wonderful wedding and then a fantastic time in Sorrento and Venice. Thank you again, very best wishes, Kate x”
  • “Dear Diana,
    Thank you! The dress was much admired, marvellous, wonderful and simply special. You were so patient with me and “made the wedding dress” really a special experience. Love, Josephine”
  • “Dear Diana & Nisha,
    Thank you so much for all your help in picking & fitting & agonising over my gorgeous wedding dress. I felt a million dollars & really enjoyed every minute of the day! Lots of love, Amy x “
  • “Please accept my thanks to you and the staff involved in the creation of my ‘mother of the bride’ outfit. I felt very comfortable and elegant throughout the day and the outfit has been described as ‘fantastic’, ‘gorgeous’ and ‘stunning’ by the photographer, guests and those who have seen the wedding photos.
    I was impressed with the personal and professional attention I received from the day I first selected the design and fabric until the last item, my hat was collected.” – Janis, Mother of the Bride, Glasgow.
  • “Just wanted to say a very big ‘thank you’ to you all for all your help with my wedding dress – I felt a ‘million dollars’ on the day – I almost ran up the hill to the church to show everyone!!” – Fiona, Tuscany.
  • “Thanks for all the hard work that went into all our outfits on Sunday 28th May. We ‘knocked them dead’. My new husband was certainly stunned – the effect I wanted! – Karin, Bride.
  • “Thank you so much for making me the most beautiful wedding dress I could ever have imagined. It really was perfect. We had a fabulous wedding day and I loved dancing round the dancefloor in my stunning dress. Thanks to everyone.” – Amy, Bride.
  • “Thank you for the wonderful experience you gave me when I chose my wedding dress. You all made me feel like a princess.” – Emma, Bride.
  • “To Joyce and all the team at By Storm,
    Just a wee note to say a huge thank you to you all for the service and friendliness we received when buying my wedding dress and my mum’s outfit for our wedding. From the moment we stepped into the studio in Bearsden to our fittings, we were really impressed by the knowledge, advice and kindness of all the staff. We cannot thank you enough, Thanks again, Emma”